Trento, 04 December 2022

2002 Club World Champs, all the useful info to follow the competition in Betim

Countdown almost complete for the Fivb Club World Championship 2022, the annual edition of the Club World Championship that the international federation has organized again in Brazil - in Betim -, as it did a year ago. On Wednesday, December 7th, the event will open with the first matches of the group stage: however, Trentino Itas, already winner of five editions (the last in 2018 in Poland), will only enter the game on Thursday, December 8th, for the second round of Pool B.
Here is the main information about the tournament.


Unchanged from the previous nine editions in which Trentino Volley took part: in Doha (Qatar) between 2009 and 2012, in Betim in 2013 and 2016, in Belo Horizonte in 2014, in Resovia and Czestochowa in 2018 and again in Betim in 2021. The six teams participating and representing three of the world's five continents (only Africa and Oceania will be missing) will be divided in the first round into two groups (Pool A and Pool B) of three teams each, which will face each other from December 7th to 10th in a one-way Italian round (Round Robin) for a total of six matches. The top two finishers in each round of the first phase will advance to the semifinals (scheduled between 10th and 11th December; finals will be played between 11th December). The third-place finishers will be eliminated directly and will both be tied for fifth place. Allocation of points in the ranking will be identical to that of the Italian championship: three points for victory in a maximum of four sets, two points for success in the tie break and one point for defeat in the fifth set, but the first discriminating factor will be the number of victories. In the event of two teams having the same number of victories in the final classification of the round, the following will then be taken into account in order: number of points, won /lost sets, scored points/ points conceded, direct confrontation.

Participating teams
Pool A: Sir Safety Perugia (Europe), Sada Cruzeiro (South America, continental champion and defending champion), Vôlei Renata (South America, wild card).
Pool B: Trentino Itas (Europe, continental championship finalist), Paykan Teheran (Asia, continental champion), Itambé Minas (South America, continental championship finalist).


This is the complete match calendar for the 2022 Club World Cup. (Italian time). All matches will be played at the Ginasio Poliesportivo Divino Braga in Betim.

Wednesday, 7th December
10.00 p.m. Itambé Minas-Paykan Club
Thursday, 8th December
1:00 p.m. Sada Cruzeiro-Vôlei Renata
10 p.m. Trentino Itas-Paykan Club
Friday, 9th December
1.00 am Vôlei Renata-Sir Safety Susa Perugia
10.15 p.m. Itambe Minas-Trentino Itas
Saturday, 10th December
1.15 p.m. Sada Cruzeiro-Sir Safety Susa Perugia
10.15 p.m.: first semifinal
Sunday, 11th December
1:15 a.m.: second semifinal
5 p.m.: Final for third place
8 p.m.: Final for the 2022 World Championship title


It will be Sky Sport to broadcast live and exclusively the 2022 Club World Cup. Italy's leading satellite network has secured the rights to the event and will show the matches of Sir Safety Perugia and Trentino Itas live on the Sky Sport Arena channel, visible on any type of device thanks to the SkyGo and Now applications.

All matches of the tournament will be broadcast live video streaming on the OTT platform "Volleyball World Tv"; the service is pay-per-view. For more information on how to use it, see

The Trentino Itas adventure will be followed step by step on the club's website and on the official profiles on the social networks (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube); in addition to the results and match comments, a daily diary with photos, and interviews will be provided.
All the information on the matches will also be available in the specially reserved section on the FIVB website:


The one that will start on 7 December in Brazil will be the seventeenth edition of the men's volleyball Club World Championship, which returned to the scene in 2009 after an absence of seventeen years and was only recently not held in 2020 due to the pandemic. Until now, the title has only been the prerogative of Italian, Brazilian or Russian teams. However, Trentino Volley is still the only team in the history of the competition to have been able to win the title for four consecutive years (five in total) and the only club to have already taken part in nine editions.

This is the roll of honour (venue in brackets):
1989 Maxicono Parma (Parma - Italy)
1990 Mediolanum Milano (Milan - Italy)
1991 Il Messaggero Ravenna (Sao Paulo - Brazil)
1992 Misura Mediolanum Milano (Treviso - Italy)
2009 Trentino BetClic (Doha - Qatar)
2010 Trentino BetClic (Doha - Qatar)
2011 Trentino Diatec (Doha - Qatar)
2012 Trentino Diatec (Doha - Qatar)
2013 Sada Cruzeiro (Betim - Brazil)
2014 Belogorie Belgorod (Belo Horizonte - Brazil)
2015 Sada Cruzeiro (Betim - Brazil)
2016 Sada Cruzeiro (Betim - Brazil)
2017 Zenit Kazan (Opole, Lodz, Krakow - Poland)
2018 Trentino Diatecx (Rzeszow, Plocj, Czestochowa - Poland)
2019 Cucine Lube Civitanova (Betim - Brazil)
2021 Sada Cruzeiro (Betim - Brazil)

Trentino Volley Srl
Press Office